EnGenius 600mW EUB9603h 802.11bgn USB adapter

Discussion about 802.11 hardware.
Senao / Engenius
EAP600, ECB350, EAP350, ECB300, EAP300, ENH200, ENH202, ENH210, ENH500, ecb-3220, ecb-3610s, ecb3500, eoc-2610 eoc1650, eoc-3220, eoc-3610s ext , eoc-8610s ext, eap-3660, esr-1221 ext, esr-7950g, eub-362 ext

Moderator: keenanj

EnGenius 600mW EUB9603h 802.11bgn USB adapter

Postby keenanj » Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:21 pm

The new 600mW engenius USB adapter is now in stock range is fantastic!

Click here for more information

http://www.keenansystems.com/store/cata ... cts_id=314


please post any questions to this thread
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am

Postby mp459 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:25 am

FYI: I just installed this on my Mac with OS X 10.6.3. The "10.5" drivers seem to work on 10.6

Only caveat is we don't see signal strength on the list of available SSIDs

mickey
mp459
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:23 am

Can transmit power be adjusted?

Postby fix4all » Fri Jul 09, 2010 4:01 pm

Sure would be nice to have the option to adjust TX and not get blasted with HF needlessly, especially being so close to the device and when one doesn't need the extended range in a particular instance. Also, the power savings benefit.
fix4all
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 5:48 pm

Postby keenanj » Fri Jul 09, 2010 5:29 pm

600mW is not much power to be blasted with cell phones have more and we hold them to our head :-}
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am

question on eub9603H acting as AP

Postby calleggra » Thu Jul 15, 2010 12:48 pm

clarification please: when using eub9603H as an AP for other devices, laptops, etc., does this mean that the source of the internet signal is by either hardwire or through the computer's internal wireless card? i.e. i can't use the eub9603H to get a wireless signal from a hotspot and broadcast it to another laptop?
calleggra
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:23 pm

Postby keenanj » Thu Jul 15, 2010 1:41 pm

you only can rebroadcast a WiFi signal not a Internet connection from the ethernet port. But yes you can connect to a hotspot and rebroadcast the signal with a different SSID and encryption key. This is a beta feature it may not work with all computers.
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am

Rebroadcasting signal

Postby fix4all » Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:40 pm

So is this, technically speaking, repeater mode where the bandwidth is halved?
fix4all
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 5:48 pm

Postby keenanj » Mon Jul 19, 2010 3:25 pm

yes all single radio repeaters with cut the BW in 1/2 but it is a handy option to have.
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am

AP vs Station Mode

Postby clubara » Thu Jul 29, 2010 11:18 pm

Just to clarify, I understand the radio only does on thing at a time... "Station" or AP. So it's not really tethering in the sense that an iPhone can take a 3G signal and then make it available to other devices simultaneously.

This should be made more clear on the website.

That said, can two of these units reside on the same computer, one in AP mode and one in station mode?

If I'm wrong, a correction would be appreciated.
clubara
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 11:10 pm

Postby keenanj » Wed Aug 04, 2010 4:00 pm

The eub9603h actually has 2 repeater modes:

(ICS)
If you have a active wireless adapter (builtin) + the eub9603h it allows you to connect with the other adapter and share the connection via the eub9603h using the AP mode. I do not believe you can use 2 eub9603h adapters at once.

(virtual Wi-Fi)
The other mode comes into play when you have just the eub9603h active (builtin disabled). You can enable the virtual AP and share the connection with the one eub9603h.

now both of these modes have drawbacks and this function is still beta but it has possibilities.

Please limit the question on this subject for now I will do a full writeup when the next version of the software is released.
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am

Postby gvanderm » Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:23 am

Can two of these be configured to do point-to-point WITHOUT an Access Point?
gvanderm
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:19 am

Re:

Postby keenanj » Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:09 am

[quote="gvanderm"]Can two of these be configured to do point-to-point WITHOUT an Access Point?[/quote]

yes they have a ad-hoc mode
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am


Return to EnGenius Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron