Engenius 500mW ENH200 802.11n bridge / AP questions

Discussion about 802.11 hardware.
Senao / Engenius
EAP600, ECB350, EAP350, ECB300, EAP300, ENH200, ENH202, ENH210, ENH500, ecb-3220, ecb-3610s, ecb3500, eoc-2610 eoc1650, eoc-3220, eoc-3610s ext , eoc-8610s ext, eap-3660, esr-1221 ext, esr-7950g, eub-362 ext

Moderator: keenanj

Engenius 500mW ENH200 802.11n bridge / AP questions

Postby keenanj » Mon Apr 18, 2011 8:56 am

Post your questions on the new outdoor ENH200 bridge / ap here.

The ENH200 has 500mW and a built in 10dBi antenna (no external antenna connector) it has 2 ethernet ports and comes with PoE injector.

The best use for the ENH200 is bridging buildings with one on each side in CB / AP modes.

more info on the ENH200 here:
http://www.keenansystems.com/store/cata ... cts_id=328

For longer range or for client access use the EOC2611p it will penetrate structures better and can do point to multipoint with a external antenna.

more info on the EOC2611p here:
http://www.keenansystems.com/store/cata ... cts_id=315
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am

EnGenius 500mW 802.11bgn outdoor ap / bridge in an RV

Postby JohnITG » Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:50 am

I would like to use this for my RV... Looking at the setup, it doesn’t seem there would be any problems... Your thoughts?

Will be using a Mac System and maybe my own WiFi Router. :?

Thanks!
JohnITG
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:22 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Postby keenanj » Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:04 am

For a RV application the eoc2611p would give you better range and connection again there is no advantage to using 802.11n if you application is Internet access

http://www.keenansystems.com/store/cata ... cts_id=315.
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am

Postby keenanj » Mon May 02, 2011 9:21 am

I have 3 different sites that I want to connect together.

the main site I will call site 2 (it is the gateway to the internet and has the main servers), site 1 is due south and site 3 due north.

3
|
|
2
|
|
1

My question is can I put ENH200's at each site with the one at site 1 facing north, the one at site 3 facing south and the one at site 2 facing south (1 to 2 is a larger gap than 3 to 2) Will there back scatter at site 2 be enough for 2 and 3 to link?

Back to top


keenanj



Joined: 13 Feb 2007
Posts: 474

Posted: Mon May 02, 2011 2:18 pm Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No you would need 2 ENH200's at site 2 one pair for each link.

use channel 1 for one pair and 11 for the other.

more information on the ENH200 here:

http://www.keenansystems.com/store/cata ... cts_id=328
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am

Postby bobrhodes » Mon May 02, 2011 5:21 pm

Thanks Jeff, kind of figured that would be the case.

Since the second port does not supply POE downstream, this means each one of the devices at site 2 will need a separate cat5 runs back to the power injectors, correct?
bobrhodes
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 8:51 pm
Location: Monroe LA

Postby keenanj » Tue May 03, 2011 7:19 am

It just means that if you use the second port you need to provide power for the device. PoE is not a pass thru technology one injector powers one device.
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am

Postby frollic » Mon Aug 08, 2011 4:08 am

Hi,

was thinking of getting this unit to run two web cams (Axis 209fd-r) setup on my garage to monitor my driveway and garden.

I understand the unit have two LAN RJ45-interfaces, where one is for PoE, but can it be used to attach other units as well, or is it for powering the ENH200 only ?

Suggestions of other products capable of doing this are also greatly appreciated.

thank you in advance
frollic
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 4:04 am

Postby keenanj » Mon Aug 08, 2011 6:06 am

yes the ENH200 has 2 ethernet ports so in client bridge mode you can connect 2 devices. PoE is still needed to power the ENH200 but it has a LAN port on the injector.
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am

Postby davesnetwork » Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:13 pm

Similar to Bobrhodes, I have set up a WDS bridge repeater using 3 ENH200s; but it does not work well, and I would like to know if you have some ideas for improvement.

...A
../
./
B
.\
..\
...C

Distance between A and B is about 1 mile. With minor obstructions to line of sight.
Distance between B and C is about 0.5 mile. With clear line of sight.
The angle formed is about 100 to 120 degrees, and the ENH200 at Location B is pointed about 1/2 way between A and C.

All 3 ENH200s are in WDS Bridge Mode, with the MAC addresses entered to only allow communication between A and B and B and C respectively. A is connected by ethernet cable to a network switch in an office. C is connected to a network switch at a remote office location.

We are able to access the main network at Location C using this setup; however, the speed is extremely slow. Approx 0.05 to 0.5 MB/sec file transfer rates.

Should we try another ENH200 at Location B and connect it to the existing ENH200 via the secondary LAN Ports? If so, how should each be configured?

Should we try a different product at Location B such as an EOR7550 that has two radios built in and then point two separte external antennas toward A and C?
davesnetwork
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:15 am
Location: Montana

Postby keenanj » Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:50 pm

you would need either a enh200 ext

http://www.keenansystems.com/store/cata ... cts_id=341

with 8.5dBi omni
http://www.keenansystems.com/store/cata ... ucts_id=19

and pigtail

http://www.keenansystems.com/store/cata ... ucts_id=67

at location B or you

could also use 2 enh200's back to back with ethernet connected.
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am

Postby davesnetwork » Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:06 pm

Is the EOR7550 a bad idea? I would add a 24dbi directional antenna to link to Location A (as I am thinking that this link is the poor quality link) and perhaps the 12 dbi omni to link to location C (and any other field office location nearby).

I would like to order the equipment from your site, but want to make sure that I get the best chance for success.

Is there any way for me to check the signal strength of the ENH200s so that I can troubleshoot which link is causing the problem? While in WDS mode, I can not see any signal strength in the configuration pages.
Thanks again.
davesnetwork
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:15 am
Location: Montana

Postby keenanj » Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:56 pm

you will have better results with 2 enh200's

just use a different non overlapping channel for each pair.

these is no such thing as signal strength when using WDS

you will have to setup as Ap and client bridge to check signal.
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am

Postby davesnetwork » Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:43 pm

I just ordered the enh200ext with a directional antenna. I will place it at location A, and then hook two of the enh200s back to back at location b. One quick question: Do I need to connect the two enh200s together using a switch, or can I connect them at the point of use by using a crossover cable or ethernet cable? Thanks again.
davesnetwork
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:15 am
Location: Montana

Postby keenanj » Mon Jan 09, 2012 7:52 am

you can use a cross over or regular straight thru ethernet cable the enh200 has a auto mdx port so it does not matter. You can also use a switch if you have more devices to connect.
keenanj
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:48 am

Postby allenmarton » Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:31 am

nice posts,thanks for the info....i like this forum very much.
allenmarton
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:22 am


Return to EnGenius Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron